When it's time to change your inventory, you need to remove some SKUs from the sale and some into the sale. You can quickly delete your SKUs in your remote channels by merely excluding them in the local StoreAutomator channel, but first "Allow Product Deletion" switch must be enabled.

This is a Channel specific action. Let's select the channel we would like to work on before doing anything:

  • Select your active channel by clicking on the "All Channels" button on the top left-hand side,

  • Select the Channel Provider

  • Select the sales channel you would like to work on

Now you should see the name of the selected channel on the top left corner.

Note all channels except Newegg support SKU deletion from the StoreAutomator panel.

General Outline of the Process

Below flow chart shows the general outline of the Deleting/Excluding Process

Delete eCommerce Products

Checking/Enabling Delete Option

Let's first check if the Delete option is enabled in your channel.

  • Go to Channel Settings>Common>Sync tab

  • Scroll down to find "Allow Product Deletion" Status:

Allow Product Deletion

If it is "Enabled," then when you exclude SKUs from channels, they will be deleted in your remote channel, and if it is "Disabled," then when you exclude your SKUs from your channels, StoreAutomator will not delete them in your remote channel.

  • If this switch was in the "Disabled" position and you excluded some SKUs, this might create quite a problem; because StoreAutomator's link to these SKUs will be severed, and consequently, SA cannot control these SKUs no more. They will be on sale on the remote channel; however, their quantities will not be controlled, and they might get oversold or easily become out of stock.

  • SKUs left unattended on Channels will eventually create big problems for you. If they are sold on the channel, the channel will expect you to fulfill your responsibility. You will not be able to that because you don't have any left in stock. In this case, you will have to cancel the order, return the money, and end up receiving a warning from the channel for causing this unpleasant situation. If this becomes a habit, the sales channel may suspend your account, which will ruin your reputation as a seller both on the channel and for your customers.

  • It is best to control this switch and switch it to "Enabled" if you intended to delete your SKUs in the remote channel.

  • If you usually don't do any deletions, it is best to keep this switch disabled since the switch protects from accidental deletion.

Deleting your items from the remote Channel

In StoreAutomator, excluding SKUs from a channel works like deleting SKUs from the remote channel, given the product deletion is enabled.

  • Go to Channel>Channel Products.

  • Select products to delete

  • Click on the three dots.

  • Click Exclude

The selected products are excluded from the channel, and a deletion feed will be sent to the channel momentarily.

Deleting SKUs from the inventory

Deleting SKUs from the inventory is potentially dangerous, as they will be gone from StoreAutomator. At the same time, they still reside in the remote channel, and consequently, SA cannot control these SKUs anymore. They will be on sale on the remote channel. Their quantities will not be controlled, and they might get oversold or become out of stock.

SKUs left unattended on channels will eventually create big problems for you. If they are sold on the channel, the channel will expect you to fulfill your responsibility. You will not be able to do that because you don't have any left in stock. In this case, you will have to cancel the order, return the money, and end up receiving a warning from the channel for causing this unpleasant situation. If this becomes a habit, the sales channel may suspend your account, which will ruin your reputation as a seller both on the channel and for your customers.

It is best to follow the procedure below to not to cause any harm to your reputation:

  • Enable "Allow Product Deletion" on channel

  • Select SKUs,

  • Exclude them from all Channels,

  • Go to Inventory>Products.

  • Select SKUs,

  • Delete from Inventory as the last step.

Also, it is recommended that you back up your SKUs before deleting them from StoreAutomator.

Backing up Your SKUs

In case you wanted to take a back up of those SKUs that you are deleting, below is the procedure:

  • Select all items to be deleted

  • Click on the export button>Export Inventory.

  • Then click on the custom.

  • Click on the select all check box.

  • Click Export button

  • When ready, there will be a notification displayed in the notifications area.

  • Click on the bell icon and download the file to your computer.

You are done with taking a backup.

Did this answer your question?